top of page

Newtown

December 14, 2012.

 

I was 11.

It was 3:17pm and my dad was picking me up from elementary school.

I was in the car, looking out the window.

I was in a happy mood and I was explaining to my father how "Free-time Friday" went in quick and high pitched tone.

The drive was a quick one since the school was only a few blocks away.

The car stopped as my father parked it and I raced him up to our home on the second floor.

As soon as I opened the door, my mom rushed up to me and hugged me.

But not a soft one.

She hugged me with a tight grasp for more than a few seconds.

"What was that for?" I asked in confusion.

She didn't respond but instead pointed to the TV screen in the living room.

I walked over.

News 8 or CNN, I don't remember which.

Firefighters and policemen in a hurry.

Parents sobbing.

I read the screen.

Shooting at a Connecticut Elementary School.

It took me a while to register.

A shooting.

I couldn't believe it.

27 dead including the shooter.

December 14, 2017.

 

It's been 5 years since the shooting.

And only more shootings have happened.

Santa Monica, Washington D.C., Fort Hood, Isla Vista, Charleston, Chattanooga, Roseburg, Colorado Springs, San Bernardino, Orlando, Burlington, Fort Lauderdale, Orange County, San Francisco, Las Vegas, and most recently Sutherland Springs.

16 shootings.

Many lives have been lost.

And I have seen no change in my country's gun control laws.

Everyday I wake up and I check my phone, I'm scared.

I'm scared to see more lives taken during these mass shootings that could've been prevented by just a change in our law from our government.

But instead, I see politicians arguing back and forth while getting nothing done.

I see my government becoming more divided day by day putting our pride and ego before the importance of our citizens' safety.

I see an elected leader who knows more about tweeting than the importance of equity and equality.

I see Americans hating each other because of the color of their skin than loving each other because we're all humans.

Reflecting back on this day brings me memories not only of the Sandy Hook shooting but of just mass shootings in general.

A change needs to be made.

But until then...good luck, America.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page